PHAS Students Shine with Top End-of-Year 2022-23 Awards

June 12, 2023

On Graduation day, May 30th, the PHAS Department acknowledged three accomplished 2022-23 end-of-year Award winners from our May graduating class for top achievements in the areas of academics, experimental physics and science communication. Congratulations to undergraduates Luna Liu for receiving the Rudi Haering Medal in Physics, Annika Mackenzie for receiving the Arthur crooker Prize and Max Botsis for receiving the Daymond Ling Award in Physics!

Luna Liu was awarded the prestigious Rudi Haering Medal in Physics, which is given to the most outstanding graduating student in Physics. Luna's consistently high scores in academics and exceptional grades in multiple higher-level classes earned her this well-deserved honor. With a cumulative average of 90.2, Luna completed her Honours in Physics program with Distinction. Her dedication and academic excellence have paved the way for her to pursue graduate studies at Yale University, starting in the fall of 2023.

Annika Mackenzie was honored with the Arthur Crooker Prize, which recognizes a student in a 3rd or 4th year Honours program with a high aptitude for experimental physics. This award is a testament to Annika's skills in experimental physics and her outstanding performance in cumulative grades. Annika successfully completed her Honours in Biophysics degree with Distinction, boasting a high cumulative GPA and achieving an A+ in her Experimental Honours Thesis course.

Max Botsis received the Daymond Ling Award in Physics, which celebrates a student who excels in science communication by effectively conveying physics concepts and their implications to a broader audience. Max has made significant contributions to science communication projects in teaching, leading science demonstrations, and organizing science events such as the Physics Olympics, Faraday Science show, and outreach activities. Currently pursuing a Master's degree in Business at UBC's Sauder School of Business, Max's commitment to science communication sets an admirable example for future scientists bridging science to the public.

These three award recipients have not only achieved strong academic standing but have also demonstrated their passion for their respective fields and their commitment to making a broader impact. The PHAS Department commends Luna Liu, Annika Mackenzie, and Max Botsis for their remarkable accomplishments and wishes them continued success in their future endeavors.