Year End Prizes

Year End Prizes

Rudi HAERING Medal in Physics

Friends, colleagues and former students of Dr. Rudi Haering have established a medal in recognition of his many years of service as a professor in the Department of Physics. The medal is awarded on the recommendation of the Department of Physics in consultation with the UBC Physics Society, to the most outstanding graduating student in Physics. This prize does not include a monetary gift.

Arthur CROOKER Prize

A monetary prize has been endowed by friends and former graduate students of Dr. Arthur Crooker in recognition of his personal interest in students and his contributions to experimental physics. The prize is awarded on the recommendation of the Department of Physics to a student in the third or fourth year honours program who shows the most aptitude for experimental physics.

Daymond Ling Award in Physics

This award has been made available through an endowment established by Daymond Ling for third or fourth-year students in the B.Sc. Major, Honours, Combined Major or Combined Honours in Physics or Combined Honours in Biophysics programs who are in good academic standing and have excelled in science communication by demonstrating the ability to communicate the ideas and implications of physics to a wide audience.